Moped Safety Classes Include:
- Introduction to mopeds
& Minnesota laws
- Moped operation
- Pre-ride inspection
- Collision avoidance skills
- Risk awareness
- And much more!
Moped Class Rates and Schedule
|Class||AAA Member Rate||Non-Member Rate||Schedule|
|Moped Safety Class||$45||$55||2022 Classes are concluded, check back in Spring 2023 for next summer's class dates!|
Interested in hosting one of our classes at your location? Call us at 952-927-2602!
How to Obtain a Minnesota Moped Operator’s Permit
Any person who has a valid driver’s license may operate a moped without taking a moped test. Anyone without a driver’s license, regardless of age, must obtain a moped oprator’s permit to legally operate a moped.
Step 1: Obtain a Moped Instruction Permit
To obtain a moped operator's instruction permit you must:
- Be at least 15 years old
- Present proper identification
- Present a certificate of completion issued by a state approved moped safety course*
- Pass a vision screening
- Pass a knowledge test**
*Upon completing the AAA Minneapolis Moped Safety Class, you will receive the certificate of completion required to obtain a moped instruction permit.
**Moped knowledge tests are offered on a first-come, first-served basis at driver exam stations. To find an exam station near you, visit the locations page of the DVS website.
Step 2: 30-Day Practice Period
When you have passed the knowledge test, you will receive a 30-day moped instruction permit. This instruction permit allows you to practice riding a moped only within a one-mile radius of your residence. For operators under the age of 16, during the instruction permit period, only a parent or guardian of the operator may ride on the moped as a passenger.
Step 3: Moped Operator's Permit Skills Test
You must pass a skills test to obtain a moped operator's permit. When you take your skills test, you must bring your 30-day moped operator's instruction permit. To find an exam station near you, visit the locations page of the DVS website.